Runnel King, Scholar-Athlete of the Year; Amber Tramel, Champion of Character Student-Athlete of the Year
Runnel King, Scholar-Athlete of the Year; Amber Tramel, Champion of Character Student-Athlete of the Year
Dillard - Tue, Apr. 24, 2012

NEW ORLEANS, LA-Dillard University Bleu Devil track runner, Runell King highlighted the Annual Dillard University Athletic Award Ceremony last week, receiving the Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award honor for achieving the highest cumulative grade-point average. The event was held in the Georges auditorium of the Professional Schools and Sciences Building.

Runell, a junior sociology major, had a cumulative grade point average of 3.9. He also played an intricate part in helping the Bleu Devils men's track and field team capture the 2010-11 GCAC Men's Track & Field Conference Championship.  

Dillard women' basketball manager Amber Tramel was voted Champions of Character Athlete of the Year. This award is given to the scholar-athlete who best exemplified the five core values of the champions of character program during the year. Tramel was recently voted as Miss Junior Class attendant for 2012-13. 

Here is a complete recap of honorees at the 2011-12 Dillard University Athletic Awards Ceremony:

Most Valuable Player    
Jazzmin Smith - Women's Basketball

Jessica Goods Morris - Women's Volleyball

 Most Valuable Runner

Destinee Showell - Women's Cross Country/Track & Field
Jevonte' Ezzard - Men's Cross Country/Track & Field
 Best Offensive Player

Ariel Mitchell -Women's Basketball

Paula Ogbevoen - Women's Volleyball

Terry Church- Men's Basketball

Best Cross Country Runner

Karley Picou - Women's Cross Country

William Gonzalez - Men's Cross Country

 Best Sprinter

Darius Neely - Men's Track & Field

Courtney Henry - Women's Track & Field

 Best Defensive Player

Lauren Daniel - Women's Basketball

Megan Laday - Women's Volleyball

Lauren Daniel - Women's Basketball

 Most Improved Runner

Daniel Gibson - Men's Cross Country/Track & Field

Sandreka Keller - Women's Cross Country/Track & Field

Leadership and Choreography

Tiffany Scott - Dance


Maleiya Porter - Jones - Cheer

Most Valuable Assistant    

Jamie Eilliot

Andrea Foster

Dantea Nichols

SID Go Getter Award

Rajun Allen

Manger's Award

Mary Thomas, Women's Basketball

Amber Tramel, Women's Basketball

William Gonzalez, Women's Basketball

Paul Key, Men's Basketball

Bryson Edinburgh, Men's Basketball

Taj Wright Young, Women's Volleyball

Tameka Lewis, Cross Country/Track & Field

Michaeala Bradley, Cheer

 Captain Award

Ariel Mitchell, Women's Basketball

Cenquis Rockett, Women's Volleyball

Sean Wilson, Men's Cross Country/Track & Field

Jonquil Griffin, Women's Cross Country/Track & Field

Ieshia Ware, Cheer           
To view photos from the Annual Athletic Awards Ceremony, click here.